Is Rick Santorum a “real” Catholic?…

This question was posed at Adrienne’s Corner  http://adriennescatholiccorner.blogspot.com/2012/01/is-rick-santorum-real-catholic.html#disqus_thread  and this is my response.

Is Rick Santorum a “real” Catholic?  Is Romney a “real” Morman?  Is Paul a “real” Baptist?   Is Newt Gingrich a “real” Roman Catholic?   I guess that depends on what you consider “real”.   Is there a difference between “real” and “true”?  Any one of us can be a “real” (insert religion) but are we “true” to our faith?  I’m a Christian, albeit not necessarily a good one, does that make me a “real” Christian but not a “true” Christian?

Was President Kennedy a “real” Catholic?  Maybe but not necessarily a “true” Christian based on some of his actions.  I remember when, prior to his election, that the talk was that a Catholic WOULD never be President, this country simply wouldn’t allow such a thing.  No way would we allow ourselves to be ruled by the Vatican which we (American people) believed was far worse than being ruled by the UN.

As an aside, we always said we would never elect a Muslim President.

In my Irish Protestant family all Catholics should be destroyed and the sooner the better.  My Mother became the black sheep upon marrying a Catholic and then things went from bad to worse when one of my Aunts married a Jew, oh, the wailing and crying that went on in my family.  Bringing a Catholic into my family was a huge no no and even though the family always spoke of support for Israel, it belied their true feelings about Jews in general for that was almost as big a no no as being a Catholic.  So were they “real” Christians?

Religion is man made, religion does not come from God.  I say that because if religion came from God then everyone would interpret God’s word the same instead of interpreting it to suit their own agenda’s.

As far as Santorum is concerned, he could very well be a “real” Catholic but some of his actions don’t show him as a “true” Catholic.  I don’t want a President who is going to impose his religious opinions on me as if they were the gospel itself.  It’s also not right for a President to legislate morality from the oval office which is what Santorum would like to do.

9 comments on “Is Rick Santorum a “real” Catholic?…

  1. It appears to me that you have a problem with Santorum because he is a Social Conservative. You might want to rethink that.

    If you do not want someone forcing his religion on you, the Liberal Democrat is a far greater threat. The Liberal Democrat wants to: educate your children, force you to pay for his charities, adopt his notions on “tolerance”, run your business, force you to believe in a large variety of “isms”, and so forth. Essentially, the Liberal Democrat wants to enslave you to a capricious power mad bureaucracy.

    Social Conservatives, on the other hand, think the Constitution actually means something. Are Social Conservatives serious about Christianity? Yes, but consider.

    Matthew 16:24-25 Good News Translation (GNT)

    24 Then Jesus said to his disciples,
    If any of you want to come with me, you must forget yourself, carry your cross, and follow me.25 For if you want to save your own life, you will lose it; but if you lose your life for my sake, you will find it.

    Jesus never made anyone forget themselves, take up their cross, and follow Him. When He never did such a thing, by what right could any Christian demand such a thing. It is a voluntarily choice. It is the one choice we make that matters.

  2. I don’t have a problem with Santorum, I just don’t like him and I don’t think he’s got a prayer of being President so he’s of no consequence one way or the other.

    You make it sound like my only two choices are either Santorum or a Liberal, there are other choices. How about Ron Paul who wants to abolish the Dept of Education?

    The way you describe a Liberal Democrat sounds vaguely familiar, oh yeah, it sounds like Santorum. Santorum has a history of supporting big govt.

  3. Phoebe – Didn’t you contradict your first sentence with your second?

    There are, of course, other candidates in the race. Which will win the Republican nomination? Too early to say.

    Ron Paul has his problems, and so do all the others. Nonetheless, each is better than the incumbent. And that was the point.

    Santorum has a history of supporting big govt.

    🙄
    Trashing Santorum with silly nonsense serves no purpose. You like Ron Paul. Then please support him.

  4. Maybe, but the point I was trying to make was, I could care less one way or the other but I don’t post for me, I post for others. I enjoy a good debate so posting controversial material works to my benefit. I know, that’s probably another contradictory statement.

    Santorum would have been a non issue in Iowa had it not been for Bachmann, like I’ve said before, when the fleas jumped off her they had to land somewhere, Santorum just happened to be handy.

    Is it any less silly to keep after Romney over a State Health Care plan?

  5. Romneycare is what Romney once BRAGGED about. Now he runs from it.

    Obamacare is the major issue of the campaign. Romneycare provided the model for Obamacare. Yet Romney wants us to believe he will get rid of Obamacare and turn back the tide of growing government. Given what he did Massachusetts, the facts of the matter — his record as governor — deserve consideration.

    Don’t we expect people to run on their record?

  6. I’m not a fan of Romney by any stretch of the imagination but, to be fair, he’s not running from “Romneycare”, he defends it, and rightly so, that it was state’s rights.

  7. I agree wholeheartedly with you but I also believe in State’s Rights and this is an issue that didn’t impact the rest of us and should be left up to the people of Massachusetts. If he chooses that same path, and I don’t think he will for obvious political reasons, then it will be our obligation to stop it if we can. We would have been able to stop Obamacare if we had leaders in Congress who cared what we thought but since we didn’t and don’t. Now they’re all bemoaning it, a day late and a dollar short.

  8. I’ve often thought of the critique about religious voters that they should not impose their opinions on secular folks. I’m not sure that is a coherent point of view because we all bring some bias and opinion to the table that may or not make sense.

    Just looking at elections swayed by negative ads and sound bytes make me wonder how much thought goes into the average voters’ mind before pulling the lever.

    That being said I think all Americans have the duty to vote their conscience – whatever their point of reference.

Leave a Reply

