Rick Santorum…racist comment?

“I don’t want to make black people’s lives better by giving them somebody else’s money”

In a state that’s 91% white, only black people are on welfare?  Talk about playing to the crowd.

Ron Paul gets shit over a 20 yr old newsletter for articles he didn’t even write but Santorum gets a pass on a 2011 speech?

13 comments on “Rick Santorum…racist comment?

  1. Here is a statement Phoebe posted on her blog. I am sure it proves something.

    I don’t want to make black people’s lives better by giving them somebody else’s money.

    😀

    You do realize, I hope, that taking you OUT OF CONTEXT and suggesting you are a racist took all of ten seconds.

  2. There’s a big difference. I can dispute that I even said that because it would be an outright lie but Santorum can’t dispute it.

    Now if you really watch the video you will see that no question was posed, he was talking about speaking with a person with the welfare dept about fines being imposed unless they sign more people up for welfare, he continued on to make the statement he did with no provocation.

  3. Phoebe – Thank you for backhanded compliment. Since I get so few, I guess I have to take what I can get.

    Did I post nonsensical comments? Am I playing devil’s advocate? I believe that sort of choice is what we call a false dilemma.

    Why the “nonsensical comments”? You don’t want Rick Santorum to be president? Then you have the right to campaign for someone else, but it is morally wrong to post stuff like that video without substantiation. If what your readers infer from the video is not true, then you will have lied and helped to tarnish Santorum’s reputation. Even if you have no concern for Santorum’s reputation, you should have some for your own.

    The Truth is something too few respect, but respect for the Truth, not “winning”, is what sets us free.

  4. Was it not a legitimate question to ask if you were playing devils advocate? My apologies.

    The nonsensical comments were really directed to your comments made about the prisons, on which post they were on, I’ve forgotten.

    I agree it’s morally wrong to post stuff without substantiation but any substantiation I may get comes from the internet alone given that’s my only source. As far as the video, I stand by my assertion that he was not posed a question and that his remark speaks for itself.

    If you can find evidence to dispute my view then please present it and if doing so it won’t mean I lied, it will mean the video lied, although in this case I believe the video was truth and not subjective.

    Santorum can tarnish his reputation by himself, most people don’t want a sanctimonious jerk imposing his morals on us legislatively. He thinks he will make this great showing in SC but SC is Southern Baptist and a right to work state, 2 strikes against him.

  5. phoebe53 – Don’t all laws have some moral basis?

    When we call someone sanctimonious, we judge them. To some extent, that is unavoidable. The Bible does prohibit such judgement, but it does suggest we do so with humility.

    Is Santorium sanctimonious?

    sanctimony
    n : the quality of being hypocritically devout

    Well, I will readily admit the capacity to be hypocritically devout. I cannot practice what I preach as easily as I preach it. Curiously, the only way I know to avoid being sanctimonious is to avoid any effort to sanctify our lives to Christ.

    In reality, there is, perhaps, no one of our natural passions so hard to subdue as pride. Disguise it, struggle with it, beat it down, stifle it, mortify it as much as one pleases, it is still alive, and will every now and then peep out and show itself; you will see it, perhaps, often in this history; for, even if I could conceive that I had compleatly overcome it, I should probably be proud of my humility. (http://citizentom.com/2009/05/31/benjamin-franklin-on-pride-and-humility/)

    Instead of attacking Santorum personally, why not take issue with his proposals? If his ideas are so bad…..

    • I believe I already have, in bits and pieces on various posts. The first and foremost one being, he’s ready to drop nukes on Iran on day one and I would be very surprised if he waited for approval from Congress. Day one might be a slight exaggeration on my part by not by much. He is a warmonger every bit as much as Bush was. If you’re so ready for WW III go ahead and vote for him.

      His belief that we have no right to privacy is totally contradictory to the constitution.

      His vote for the Patriot Act and re-authorization. That is a huge no no for me. I will never support a candidate who voted for the Patriot Act.

      Voted NO on Employer Verification Amendment.

      Voted Yes on Same Sex Marriage Amendment which Prohibits individual states from recognizing marital status and/or legal benefits from any other unions other than that of a man and woman. I’m not pro same sex marriage but the amendment flies in the face of states rights.

      This is just a few points, I could list many more but until he becomes a serious contender in this race, it’s a waste of my time.

      I also look at the candidates and wonder if I would like them if I knew them personally, Santorum I would not like as a regular person.

      Why do you support him?

Leave a Reply

