SANTORUM DEFENDS HIS COMMENT ABOUT BLACKS AND WELFARE

Those of you who might have questioned the video I posted about Santorum and racist comment might enjoy this, it proves, as I attested, that he was not posed a question that required this response…. “I do not want to make black people’s lives better by giving them somebody else’s money”. 
January 9, 2012, 4:54 pm

Santorum Defends Comments About Food Stamps

By KATHARINE Q. SEELYE

DERRY, N.H. — Rick Santorum said Monday that comments he made last week in Iowa about food stamps that some construed as racially charged were the result of his having been tongue-tied and were not a reference to black people.

Moreover, he said he has done more in black communities “than any Republican in recent memory.”

Mr. Santorum, who had worked on overhauling the welfare system when he was in Congress, was discussing food stamps in Sioux City, Iowa, on Jan. 1 when he was reported to have said: “I do not want to make black people’s lives better by giving them somebody else’s money, I want to give them the opportunity to go out and earn the money.”

He maintains that he did not say “black” people’s lives but rather stumbled verbally when he was trying to say “people’s lives” and uttered a short syllable that came out as “plives.”

Nonetheless, he faced criticism afterward for apparently linking food stamps with black people, although there are more whites (49 percent of recipients) on food stamps than blacks (26 percent). The rest (20 percent) are Hispanic.

On Monday, at a stop at Mary Ann’s Diner here, he was asked by a reporter if he had been unfair to black people.

“Oh that’s just absurd,” he said testily, as a mob of reporters surrounded him.
“First off, I didn’t say the word black. (LIAR) I got my tongue tied. You guys are making _ look at my track record, look at what I’ve done for opportunity and helping people. Look at my record of employment, look at my record of working in the community. You guys, you guys _ it’s really sad that you are bringing this up. It’s just sad news. I’ve done more in the African-American communities as a Republican than any Republican in recent memory.”

With that, he hopped in his campaign van and headed off to his next event.

http://thecaucus.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/01/09/santorum-defends-comments-about-food-stamps/?ref=politics
4 comments on “SANTORUM DEFENDS HIS COMMENT ABOUT BLACKS AND WELFARE

  1. Phoebe – Shouldn’t you have had corroborating information before you posted that first post?

    Also, do you realize you are gloating at someone else’s misfortune?

    Let’s get to the meat of the problem. We all tend to have wicked tongues. In addition to being given to expressions of bigotry, we also tend to be quick to judge each other. So what about Santorum? Besides saying something he obviously never intended to say, what has Santorum actually done that is racist?

    Have you tried putting yourself in his shoes? Remember this post?
    http://citizentom.com/2012/01/02/how-the-liberal-democrat-news-media-would-take-on-ron-paul/

    And the comment you posted?

    Lew Rockwell, who was VP of that enterprise at the time, has admitted that he and 7 or 8 more ghostwriters wrote that stuff. Regardless, the main thing that got RP into trouble was an article that stated that 98% of the blacks in DC were criminals, I haven’t seen any statistics to dispute that. I’m not a racist, just a realist. Facts speak for themselves, it’s when you point out the facts that you’re branded a racist.

    Does the word double-standard bring to mind any thoughts?

    What Santorium said may have been a Freudian slip, but what about you wrote? Yet when you have written much the same thing, you grin and gloat when Santorum gets caught for being politically incorrectly.

    Think about the term BIAS. Have you looked at the man’s track record, or are you operating purely from your own bias?

    • Where was I gloating? If I had wanted to gloat I would have said BOOYA!! 😀 And you know I wanted to! 😀

      I didn’t need to corroborate that first post because I watched it closely and I used my analytical skills in determining that he was posed no question. And…..I did not call Santorum a racist, in fact, if you look at the title of that thread you will see a question mark in the title. I report, you decide.

      There’s no double standard here, I just questioned why Santorum gets a free pass while Ron Paul takes the heat. What’s good for the goose is good for the gander and things to that effect.

      Santorum might very well have been right in his remark, it’s not all black and white, so to speak, to put blacks against whites, you have to do ratio’s of population of race vs number of benefits but for him, as a candidate, to be stupid enough to say it out loud, well….

      Yes, I have checked his record, I also told you on the other post how I disagree with him and why I won’t vote for him, why don’t you post why you support him, if you do and if you have the courage to have your opinions dissected and debunked?

      http://www.votesmart.org/candidate/key-votes/27054/

  2. Phoebe –

    Where was I gloating? If I had wanted to gloat I would have said BOOYA!! 😀 And you know I wanted to! 😀

    How did I know?

    When someone repeatedly says something and contradicts themselves in the next sentence, I must admit I have a hard time seeing where I have a role in the discussion. Is that your way of excluding me?

    Yes, I have checked his record, I also told you on the other post how I disagree with him and why I won’t vote for him, why don’t you post why you support him, if you do and if you have the courage to have your opinions dissected and debunked?

    Funny way to try to put me on defense. Am I to suppose that commenting on your blog doesn’t count for anything?

    So which candidate do I support? At this point I am not certain. I have more research to do, but I guess I will probably support Rick Perry or Rick Santorum.

    Like most people, I am not happy with any of the candidates. Almost none of us ever will be, but there is nothing any of them can do about it. They are only men (Romans 3:9-19). If the debates have revealed anything, they have revealed the imperfect humanity of the candidates.

    So why comment on your blog? Do I intend to pick on you? No. I just tire of seeing imperfect people struggle with a vicious new media and electorate. It is self defeating. With the vile accusations we heap upon our leaders, what decent man would want to expose his family to our abuse?

    Because I saw what you had posted on Santorum, I took the opportunity to point to where I thought you crossed the line between thoughtful consideration and mean-spirited innuendo. You are no fool. You know better.

    Have I been guilty of the same sin? It is a real possibility. You are most welcome to point out when you think I cross the line.

  3. I was trying to be humorous and assumed that you have a grasp of my personality by now.

    Your posting on my blog actually means a lot to me and I’m not trying to put you on the defense, I really would like to know why you like him. I’ve read a lot of blogs and it appears that those whose support him do so because of his religious beliefs, I’ve heard no other reasons that anyone thinks he would be a good President. If support for him is strictly for his religious views then we are in truly deep shit.

    Obama drastically changed the course of this country and we need drastic changes to bring it back, not this nickel and dime shit that the candidates, other than Paul, are talking about. This is the election that really needs to count for something, if we get more of the same as usual politics then it’s all over but the crying and the wailing.

    People I know who voted for Obama are now cursing themselves and saying “sorry”, I didn’t know. Well I’m cursing you too and, in this case, sorry just doesn’t cut it, a day late and a dollar short. You were warned but had your colon wrapped around your necks so tight you couldn’t see what was right in front of you. The same will hold true for those who get it wrong this time.

Leave a Reply

