BREAKING: George Zimmerman granted bond in Trayvon Martin case

At a bond hearing today, Prosecutor asked for no bond or a million dollar bond given Zimmerman’s past violent history, considered him to be a danger to the community.  The Judge granted George Zimmerman bond in the amount of $150,000.  He was also given restrictions to the bond which contain the following, electronic monitoring, no contact with victims family, no possession of firearms or destructive device, no alcohol, curfew 7 to 7, every 3 days check in with PD, have no contact with witnesses, no controlled substance without prescription.  Zimmerman will not be released today.  The Judge told the lawyers to work together with each other and Police Department to see if Zimmerman can reside out of town.

ZIMMERMAN MAKES A STATEMENT

Wearing suit and shackled, Zimmerman was sworn in and seated in the witness stand.  His statement consisted solely of, “I wanted to say I’m sorry for the loss of your son, I thought he was just a little bit younger than me and I didn’t know he was armed or not.”

____________________________________________

Investigator on the stand said that Zimmerman’s account of what happened was not consistent with the evidence.   Witness statements to police indicate that Zimmerman WAS continuing to follow Martin and that Zimmerman made the initial contact.

Martin was shot at close range, powder burns on Trayvon’s hoodie.

By phoebe53 Posted in Crime

3 comments on “BREAKING: George Zimmerman granted bond in Trayvon Martin case

  1. Please explain where your statement “Witness statements to police indicate that Zimmerman WAS continuing to follow Martin and that Zimmerman made the initial contact.” comes from.

    What I just read is the following:
    “During further questioning by O’Mara, Gilbreath admitted that the state has no evidence who started the fight. There is also no evidence that Zimmerman didn’t walk back to his car after chasing Martin on foot, as the defendant has claimed.”

  2. I watched some of the hearing and it was the Investigator that was on the stand who said it. You’re correct that he also said there is no evidence that Zimmerman started the fight but he also said that witnesses said that Zimmerman approached Trayvon.

    To hear all the facts and the actually witnesses themselves, we’ll have to wait for the trial, which I’m sure will be televised.

    • Unless of course, I’m hard of hearing. I was writing this stuff down as it was said.

      Here’s my scattered notes.

      Investigator says that Zimmerman continued to follow Martin, was not going back to his truck.

      He continued on for a period of time, less than a minute before he hung up

      Zimmerman confronted Martin, not the other way around.

      2 witnessess said that he continued to follow, observed figures running by her residence

      Zimmerman’s statement….

      Do not know who started the fight.

      Zimmerman said in statement, he saw someone, was concerned, called 911 and got out of his car, he said he turned around and went back to his car, he continued on to find a street sign and then went back “towards” his car.

      Zimmerman told officers he was the victim, that it was Martin that confronted him and assaulted him. The initial interview at the PD within an hour and a half.

      Any indication that zimmerman knew there were witnessess.

      Martin was shot at close range, powder burns on Trayvon’s hoodie.

      Evidence indicates that Martin was not pummelling him. Martin was covering his mouth and nose and that gave him the opportunity to grab the gun.

      Zimmerman’s account of following is not consistant with evidence.

      Broken nose proported injury.

      ZIMMERMAN MAKES A STATEMENT

      Wearing suit and shackled

      George Michael Zimmerman

      I wanted to say I’m sorry for the loss of your son, thought he was just a little bit younger than me and I didn’t know he was armed or not.

      Prosecutor argues that, because of Zimmerman’s prior violence, he may be a danger to the community. It should be no bond or million dollar bond.

      Bond at 150,000 electronic monitoring. Zimmerman will not be released today. No contact with victims family. No possession of firearms or destructive device, no alcohol, curfew 7 to 7. Every 3 days check in with PD. Have no contact with witnessess. No controlled substance without prescription. Work together with prosecutor and pd on whether he can reside out of town.

      Security issues. Next friday hearing for media.

      After you committed the crime, I never stated I was sorry to the police. In one of the statements I said I felt sorry for the Martin’s. I’m fairly certain I said that.

      I don’t remember verbatim or which officer.

      Why did you wait so long to tell the parents. I was told not to communicate with them. I asked the attorneys to express that to them.

      I remember giving 3 statements. When you were questiioned about the contradictions, you said I don’t remember. I did not change my story as I went along.

      Turned over phone to police. Did you ever make any reference to Martin Dad in text message I don’t remember sending any text referring to the victims father.

Leave a Reply

