Christmas Crafting Part 1

I still can’t show my Christmas card for this year, just mailed them out Friday so I have to wait for the recipients to receive them but here’s some other stuff I’ve been working on.  You can fill these boxes and bags with all kinds of goodies and gifts.

Santa, Mrs. Claus and Baby Claus

Santa, Mrs. Claus and Baby Claus

assorted gift bags

assorted gift bags

Mrs. Claus' apron

Mrs. Claus’ apron

Santa Pants

Santa Pants

4 comments on “Christmas Crafting Part 1

  1. I BETTER BE GETTING ONE!!!!!

    I haven’t forgotten my task. Work days are hard to get blogging stuff done, but I will. Promise!!

  2. Phoebe,
    Just got your card.
    WOW!!

    You MADE that? My wife was floored…and more than just a little impressed.
    Plus, my oldest son said “cool”….which is high praise, indeed…. and is now trying to recreate your idea for his buddies’ Christmas cards.

    Many thanks!
    Merry Christmas!

  3. Glad you’re all impressed, I knew I was on the right track when my 16 yr old, non crafting, usually non impressd, granddaughter thought it was an awesome card. I’ve listed the directions so if your son makes one I’d love to see a picture of it.

    Basic instructions are pretty simple once you get the hang of it, it’s called a side step card.

    1. Take a piece of 8.5 x 11 cardstock, cut in half so your card is 8.5 x 4.25, on one end measure 2″ in and put a little dot, measure the other end 2″ in and put a little dot, take your ruler and line up the dots, cut from 1.25″ to 6″ with a craft knife.

    2. On the 3.5″ side score to the cut 1.25″, 2″, 3.25″, 4.25″ and 6″, fold the first one down, the second up etc (mountain and valley folds), on the 2″ side fold in half. Press down the folds to make them crisp but don’t overdo it because it will break down the paper and make the folds weak, I know this. Decorate any way you want to.

    3. Trees, start with a square, any size, (mine were 2-2″, 1-1.5″, 1-1″) fold all the same way. Fold corner to corner, unfold,turn and opposite corner to corner to create triangles, unfold, fold side to side, unfold, turn and fold side to side on opposite side, unfold paper and then push in the two sides to create double thick triangle, take the top layer and fold to the middle on both sides, that creates your branches, layer and glue the branches inside each other. voila….a tree.

    4. Envelope, 8.5×8.5 piece of heavy paper or cardstock, (I used double sided paper but you don’t have to), on one corner score at 3″, opposite corner score at 3″, other two corners score at 3 5/8, fold your score lines and voila…you have an envelope, just add glue or double stick tape.

    Another idea, simpler, is to make bigger trees and put them on the front of a card the same size as this one without the cuts and folds, just fold the card in the middle, stand upright, layer a piece or two of paper on the cardstock, place your tree in the center and add a Merry Christmas banner on the bottom of the card. I stamp mine but you can print one on the computer. I did this kind of card a couple of years ago and it was a big hit. Also, try making your trees out of Christmas paper wrapping.

    You’re welcome and Merry Christmas to you as well.

Leave a Reply

