BREAKING: A BABY FOR WILLIAM AND KATE

For any of you who really care, I’m sure there must be one….

It’s a boy!

Catherine gives birth to royal baby

By Laura Smith-Spark and Richard Allen Greene, CNN
updated 3:33 PM EDT, Mon July 22, 2013

London (CNN)[Breaking news update 3:33 p.m. ET]

It’s a boy! Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge and husband Prince William on Monday welcomed their first child.

[Original story published at 3:31 p.m. ET]

As a nation and the world awaited news of a child who could one day sit on the British throne, Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge, was experiencing a normal labor on Monday, Kensington Palace said.

The duchess and Prince William, Duke of Cambridge, traveled by car from Kensington Palace to the Lindo Wing at St. Mary’s Hospital, his office at Clarence House announced at 7:37 a.m. Monday (2:37 a.m. ET.) Kensington Palace issued a progress report about 90 minutes later.

The hospital, next to Paddington Station in London, is where William and his brother Prince Harry were born.

The duchess’ mother, Carole Middleton, was expected to be on hand at the hospital.

The baby’s name will not be announced when its sex and birth weight are posted on a notice board at Buckingham Palace, a Kensington Palace spokesman said. A formal press release containing details of the birth will be issued shortly before the formal signed announcement leaves the hospital, on its way to Buckingham Palace.

The baby’s name may be announced when the family leaves the hospital, CNN royal correspondent Max Foster reported. Prince William’s name was announced a few days after birth, his brother Harry’s on departure from hospital.

Some British parents have delayed naming their newborns in recent days in hopes of either copying or avoiding the royal name, he said.British bookmakers favor the names Alexandra, Charlotte, Elizabeth, Victoria, Grace, James and George. The field is open for both boys’ and girls’ names because royal sources said the parents did not want to know their child’s sex in advance.

The child’s title will be His or Her Royal Highness Prince or Princess (the baby’s name) of Cambridge, St. James’s Palace said this month.

Protocol dictates that the first to know about the arrival of the baby will be Queen Elizabeth II, Prime Minister David Cameron and the governors general of each of the Commonwealth nations — along with the rest of the royal and Middleton families.

The queen returned to Buckingham Palace on Monday from Windsor Castle, another of her official residences. Crowds have been gathering outside the palace gates as news of the birth is awaited.

Meanwhile Monday, on a visit to the city of York, in northern England, Prince Charles was given a gift to pass on to his grandchild by a child among the crowd of well-wishers.

“I’ll see what I can do,” said Charles, adding that the baby “hasn’t quite appeared yet.”

British Prime Minister David Cameron sent his “best wishes,” to the Duchess of Cambridge during her labor.

“The whole country is excited with them, so everyone is hoping for the best,” he said.

Justin Welby, the archbishop of Canterbury and head of the Church of England, tweeted: “My thoughts and prayers are with Kate and the whole family on this enormously special day.”

The baby will be third in line for the throne now occupied by the queen. Her son, Charles, will succeed her, followed by his son, William.

Thanks to a change agreed by the leaders of the Commonwealth countries in 2011 and passed into law this year, the baby’s place in the order of succession will be the same regardless of sex.

Previously, boys automatically trumped female siblings. So a first-born daughter could be pushed out of line by a younger brother.

The British monarch is also head of state in 15 Commonwealth countries, including Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Belize and Jamaica — so many people there will also be waiting for news of the birth of their future sovereign.

The royal birth is expected to be good for business. The UK-based Centre for Retail Research estimates retailers will sell $121 million worth of royal-related baby toys and souvenirs. Merchandise ranges from diaper covers and clothing to a “prince potty chair,” which of course is in the shape of a throne.

On Twitter, at least seven topics related to the royal baby jumped to the top of the trending list in the United Kingdom Monday morning. And “Kate Middleton” was trending in the United States.

Many tweets were along the lines of the comment of Holly Thrift, who wrote, “The royal baby is coming! I am freaking out!”

The baby was the only topic on the radio talk show hosted by Vanessa Feltz on BBC London 94.9 on Monday morning.

But not everyone was thrilled. Feltz read on air a message from “Gary” asking, “Please, please please, I implore you not to devote too much of the morning’s show to the royal baby.”

Feltz replied, “C’mon, Gary, give an inch. …. It’s huge, we can’t ignore it.”

She reported Gary sent another message: “OK, point taken. I’m a beaten man.”

17 comments on “BREAKING: A BABY FOR WILLIAM AND KATE

  1. I like it myself because it is a new life and a miracle that God sends us. So for me, I think it’s just fine to celebrate this birth. Too much bad news makes my head spin and a bit of good news is good. I recall the birth of my own child and how joyous I was. Holding my granddaughter minutes after she was born was outstanding to me. I fell head over heals in love with her and thanked God for another miracle of birth.

    • I find it interesting that the new HRH could possibly be on the throne in the 22nd century.

      With the birth of my daughter, after 36 hrs of labor, admiring her seemed to take 2nd place over sleep. I was there at the birth of my first granddaughter, saw her come into this world, and that was a very special time and I still, 17 years later, still have that special bond and attachment to her that I don’t necessarily have with the other 3 even though I was there moments after their births.

      • Phoebe, I’m sorry I thought he 2nd child you spoke about was impending for you.
        Please accept my apology for the mistake. As I read it over I see I misread it.

        I had the same experience of being in labor as long as you if not longer. All I could do is sleep that night, but in the morning I was able to enjoy my son. I was dead tired after that birth to say the least and in a ton of pain.

        Funny, I had the same experience of being so bonded with my first grandchild, Anastasia, that today we still have that same bond too. When she was a baby and toddler she wanted no one but me, even preferring me over her Mother which obviously did not go over so well.

        The 2nd birth of my grandson did not bond me to him like Anna. I felt really bad about it, but that’s just the way it was and he was trying so hard to make friends with me even as a baby. I found it difficult to share my love for Anna with John, but I eventually got past that. My son and his wife brought it up to me on how I didn’t pay the attention to him as I did with Anna. So I worked on that. I don’t know what the hell my problem was.

      • I’m glad it was just an error Pepper, I was thinking you were insane. lol

        I think the first grandchild feels more like your own child, you spend a lot more time with them, in my case, Ashley lived with me for the better part of 14 years but I think all grandparents are enthralled by their first, after that they become routine. I love all my grandchildren, and they all love me but my 5 year old granddaughter was the only one who wanted nothing to do with me, she was Papa’s (Mr.G) girl, fortunately she overcame that, about the time she was old enough to realize that Grandma buys the gifts. lol

  2. Not to upstage the royal mother but my daughter was 8 lbs 12 oz and I only gained 27 lbs, now I’m not pregnant I can gain 100 lbs just looking at food.

    • Phoebe,

      Congratulations on your next child. I bet you are so happy even if you do gain a lot of weight, which I really doubt. That’s funny.

      My daughter in law is only 4’10” weighed 90 and gave birth to her second, a boy, who weighed in at 9lbs 3oz. I never thought such a big baby could come out of such a tine person as she is.

      • And to clarify things, I only have one child, for a reason, I’ll try anything once and if I don’t like it I ain’t doing it again.

        I do have 2 stepdaughters, one of which has contributed to the grandchildren by having 3 of them, my daughter has the other 4, all girls, ages 5,7,11 and 17.

  3. Phoebe,

    I had only one child too and I didn’t ever want to go through it again as the whole experience was painful from the morning sickness, my son had his feet in my ribs and I could not sit up. I had to lie down instead to take the pressure off. My X-husband never wanted a child to start so I didn’t want to do it again.

    Now years later I regret that since my only son and child is dead.

      • phoebe

        Yes, I’m glad to have my 2 grandchildren but i don’t get to see them often anymore. My daughter in law was so angry with me after my son died. He suicided. I guess she had to take her rage out on someone so that was me. Why how in the hell would I ever know. She finally got past that and started allowing me to see them again but under very strict rules she laid down, one being that I never talk about my son, (their own father) to them ever again.

        I abide by that rule or I would not be allowed to see them. And now they are also never allowed to stay with me. Why, I have no idea because I took care of those kids so much after they were born, I practically lived at their house. She had no complaints about me then. So what the change is I have no idea. That I miss. They are allowed to stay with the other grandparents, just not me. That breaks my heart but there is nothing I can do about it. Anna has told me she would love to stay at my house, but her mother won’t allow it. It’s just sad to me.

      • I think it’s deplorable when parents use the children to hurt the grandparents, it not only hurts the grandparents but hurt the grandchildren too. Hopefully things will look up for you when they get older and can decide for themselves.

  4. phoebe,

    It was deplorable. And I can’t tell you the pain I was in. I just lost my son and now my grand children. I cried so much over it. And I didn’t think it was good for my grand children either. The first time I did get to see them, they were afraid of me. I have no idea what they were told. That was another blow. My X-Rat husband did not want me to see the kids as he blamed my son’s suicide on me because I suffer with chemical depression and the thinking on their parts was that my son inherited his depression from me even though X-Rat suffered from depression too but refused to get any help over it. My crime i guess was that I sought help. And I encouraged Jeff, my son, to get help for his depression which he did.

      • phoebe,

        Exactly. And I know people who suffer with depression but have no idea what’s wrong with them. They think those of us who see a shrink are nuts, when actually those who do not seek help are the real NUTS.

Leave a Reply

